News & Resources

What To Do If You Are Hit By An Uninsured Driver

Colorado, like most states, requires a minimum amount of insurance for any owner of a car, truck, or motorcycle. Driving without insurance is illegal. Every owner of a passenger vehicle is required to carry a minimum of $25,000 per person ($50,000 per accident) in bodily injury liability and $15,000 in property damage per accident. But there is no requirement that an owner carries uninsured (“UM”) coverage or underinsured (“UIM”) motorist coverage.

Why is Uninsured Motorist Coverage Important?

Even though not required by law, UM/ UIM coverage is important to consider. This insurance protects you and your passengers if a driver who does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance to pay for your damages hits you.

UM/UIM insurance will take the place of the insurance that the at-fault driver should have had, and you can recover damages up to your policy limits, if warranted. 

What to Do If An Uninsured Driver Hits You

If you are in an accident with an uninsured driver, consider taking the following steps:

  • Seek medical treatment immediately. Your health and well being should always be your first consideration.
  • If you are physically able to walk around at the scene of the accident, gather as much information about the at-fault driver as you can, including make and model of the automobile, and license tag number.
  • If police are not called to the scene, ask to see the other driver’s license and write down the information provided, including their driver’s license number. If law enforcement is called, the police should obtain this information and document the details on their report.
  • Make sure to get a copy of the police report. Usually getting the report will require you to contact the police station at some point in the future.
  • Call your insurance company as soon as possible. Tell them what you know about the other driver, including that they are uninsured. Let them know you are planning on filing a claim.

Will You Need A Colorado Springs Car Accident Attorney?

If you and your passengers are unharmed and will not be seeking personal injury damages for the accident, it makes sense to go ahead and talk to your insurance company to discuss your claim. They will likely ask you to fill out forms and answer questions.

If, however, you have incurred serous injuries, you might want to consult with a personal injury attorney before talking to your insurance representative.

If you have purchased UM/UIM coverage, you can make a claim for damages from your own insurance company up to your policy limits. You might be seeking substantial recovery and, even though you will be working with your own carrier, you want to make sure that you recover everything you are entitled to.  A car accident attorney has experience getting injured parties as much recovery as possible.

You may still file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver if they don’t have insurance and you don’t have UM/UIM coverage. A personal injury attorney can help you with this decision and discuss whether filing suit in your case is a good option.

The attorneys at Levine Law can help you decide on the best course of action. Call us at 719-471- 3000 or contact us online.

Levine law

Find Out How Much Your Case in Worth

Call us for a FREE consultation. No Fee Unless We Get You Money.

Related Post